uploadThe news came to me a week ago that someone I had known in Montreal had died – taken her life in an abrupt moment.

I question all of this in my mind. This womyn was positive, an activist, deep thinker, adventurous and really seemed to have so much going for her.

Her close friends, foreign friends, distant friends are all left wondering why? To most there wasn’t any signs that indicated that she was struggling.

But it really begs the point for me. Is there a stereotypical type of person that defines suicidal? No. Not really.

Mental health is still not something that is appropriately treated or talked about. In Canada, 20% of the population will experience a mental health in their lifetime (The Report on Mental Illness in Canada, October 2002). How many times have you noticed people will generally say, “I’m ok.” when asked how you are doing even if they aren’t. We are meant to feel we should be strong not supported. And sometimes this is an unfortunate cosmetic of our culture.

For me, I realise that more support for one another is needed. That it’s okay to feel safe to open up to others and create that space for people. To not think of ourselves as individualists that must survive on our own. The brave warrior.

Being in this world – fighting for something more just – more real – more progressive can be hard. It can be hard on your soul, heart, and never seem to end. I think that I am reminded again that I need to make time for lovers, friends, family, and strangers to express myself and allow them to express themselves.

Without support we can’t move this movement forward.

