First nite at the Dreaming Festival

This last weekend I left the beloved Permaforest Trust (I’ll post more reflections on all that later) after doing two weeks there and learning a great deal from that experience and headed off with Sophie & other crew from the trust to the Dreaming Festival. For those that don’t know the Dreaming Festival is a gathering of all the aboriginal people from around Australia to celebrate the culture & arts of their people. So I spent four solid days taking in some amazing things including some pretty special theatre pieces, movies, and stories about what has happened to these people.

Much of the healing of this country is currently happening now. It’s humbling to know that frankly while healing they are still embracing the government and people that put them in this situation. I really felt an amazing connection, spirit, and intensity at this festival (that had about 3000 people attending which was really nice cause everyone was super cruisy, friendly, kind, and great). These people have been through a great deal in their time and to see them still striving to keep their cultures alive and strong makes me feel good inside. Makes me want to help them out. Makes me respect them. And makes me want to grow with all of that. Respect them and myself too.

In the process of being around such intense feelings (movies/theatre/songs about what has happened to them in the last 100 years) it created a great sense of emotional connection. I was happy to be a part of that. It also caused a great deal of introspective digging on my part too. It felt good to look back at myself in the last 10 years and think of where I’ve gotten to. How proud I am of how I continue to grow and just need to be conscious (as we all do) of what we are doing in the world, to the earth, to ourselves, in our communities, how we relate to others, what community means, and just being present in the moment.

