Ahh Rimu

So today marked the last day of the Heaphy Track for me. It’s pretty hard to describe the entire experience in one post but regardless I think that I can slam in a few highlights for peeps to read.

On the first day of the hike I was going up some pretty steep rock pathways and managed to mangle my leg. (read: it really hurts to bend my knee). Now this wasn’t discovered until I rocked into the first hut called Perry Saddle Hut. At the time I had thought that my injury wasn’t as bad as it later appeared to be. I ended up hiking the remainder of the trek (hiking = tramping here in NZ) which was approximately 60 KM through some crazy terrain with my leg. The last day although an amazing experience was probably the hardest for me.
Saxon Hut to myself

Regardless, the amazing scenery was something of a treat for me to take in. All the vegetation, environment, animals and air seemed to change so many times I could hardly keep track. On the second night I spent it sleeping completely on my own in the Saxon hut. I was surrounded by mountains on both sides of me, a kitchen overlooking the mountains, and a relaxing vibe (pic on the left). I woke up at about 5:30 AM in the morning cause I had to use the facilities and upon looking around all the landscape was covered lightly in a beautiful fog, the full moon was bright and in the horizon the sun was rising. I stood there for a little while and took it all in and then headed back to bed for a bit more rest before jetting off.

The day that I hiked to the Heaphy Hut (9 hour hike) was the most special to me. At the end I came across Remu trees (picture above) that were the widest tree I’ve ever seen in my life. I spent a bit of time (until the sandflies tried to carry me off to their layer for an early dinner) standing near one just being in it’s presents thinking about how long it had been there, how many peeps had passed it, and what cool stories it would have to tell if it could talk (no I wasn’t on anything).

The entire hike was a good learning experience for me again…

On the second last day of my hike (spent three nights and four days hiking) I passed several solo hikers that were listening to MP3 players (PLEAZE sign this petition) or disc-mans while hiking. Seemed kinda strange to me. Really strange. I think there is something to be said about just taking nature in without the influence of that.

That not having something like music makes you really vulnerable where you are trying not to focus on the fact that your bag weights a million pounds, grinding into your back, and is hard to lug. But the beautiful thing is that you really end up working through frustrations, fears, tiredness, all the rest on your own. It’s almost like steps because after getting through that you are in a state of comfortableness/confidence and then you start dealing with things in your life. Well that’s how this works for me anyway. It gives me time to not only experience nature, become in touch, but also think… be free… process, learn, breath, and relax. It’s not unfair to say that we easily can get caught up in the cycles of life, city, bustle, and even just “seeing” the sites and miss the point. We are just as small as ants when you look at the planet. When you think about that you realize it is something special (Mumma E), worth protecting, and worth loving.

LOVE YOU ALL

– Shane

PS – Becs I spent a bit extra time with my hand on the tree giving it a nice ello from you. It brought a big smile to my face when I felt that you were there in spirit shittin your pants over the trees..yes they were heaps bigger than the ones we found on the coast.

PSPS – Lilu the coastline was untouched and just as beautiful as Westport south..definitely reminded me of you.

