It's starts with C and ends with MassFriday was marked with much adventure and good times for me. I started the day by cruising out to downtown via a nice relaxing ferrie with a bit of sprinkle. It was beautiful to catch a different glimpse of the Sydney Opera House and Bridge while arriving at the Circular Quay boat dock.

I spent the afternoon checking out the National Museum of Art and discovering some pretty cool art and photography there. I was a little bit disappointed that I couldn’t go check out the aboriginal art (main reason why I went) because they were revamping that section. I guess I’ll have to come back later to check this out some more.

The highlight of the day was definitely the fantastic bike celebration known as Critical Mass, which is a celebration on the last Friday of every month [during favourable weather conditions] in most (if not all) major cities. Cyclists take to the streets in huge numbers and ride through like full traffic. There had to be at least 400+ cyclists riding on the road and the spirit was lively, friendly, and completely full of love. It lasted for about 1 1/2 to 2 hours approximately. I hate comparing things but I have to say that the spirit at this bike celebration was so much more free than what I experience in Toronto. People came with speakers mounted in their bike panniers or separate trailers, danced, smiled, and also brought kids along for the ride too. IT WAS SOOO GREAT! Whereas in Toronto I really felt like the spirit was very mellow and not so much a big party (people on the road kept asking us what we were doing).


Lifts on the bridgeThe significance of this month’s Sydney Critical Mass is that it marks the last ride of the year (even though they do one in December as well)! Each year they ride across the Sydney Bridge, do a bike lift in the middle, and then ride onward to the end destination. It was FREAKIN’ amazing to ride across the bridge without any traffic and with fellow riders (see my other pictures to get an idea of how big it is).

It’s also a fantastic reminder to everyone involved (drivers, cyclists, rollerbladers, and walkers) that in all urban centres we need to create lanes that are accessible to cyclists and other alternative modes of transportation. It’s not only healthy but it helps keep the amount of pollution that single drivers create commuting to and from work.

I then headed back to Maurice’s squat (Lee was thinking of you), ate dived yummies, and then did some tunnels around town (Mark you would have enjoyed those).

Thinking of you all, love, hugs, and great vibes,

– Shane

PS – Thanks for all the great vibes via e-mail everyone has sent me they’ve been great.

PSPS – Wheats I’m flattered that you read my blog (one of millions you know of but choose to read)

